After getting in a motor vehicle crash in Pennsylvania, you may worry that an injury someone else sustained is entirely your fault.

Learning more about compensation laws can help you understand what you have to pay in damages.

No fault option

Pennsylvania allows you to have no-fault insurance that will cover an accident no matter who was to blame for the wreck. This is uncommon in many states, with Pennsylvania being one of the only places that allows for this. However, you must have no-fault insurance before the car accident occurs, otherwise you will not qualify.

If you do not qualify for this law, then you can try to show the other driver was at fault, if only by a certain percentage. You may only have to pay for the amount of damage that is in proportion to the percentage of your fault. In addition, you may also get to recover partial damages for an accident you caused.

Timing and limits

There are time limits for filing a potential claim. You must submit your paperwork within two years of the incident occurring. In addition, the cap for monetary compensation is generally unlimited except in two occasions.

For a case against the Commonwealth itself, there is a $250,000 cap. Additionally, there is a $500,000 cap for claims against the local government.

Types of damages

The difference between economic and non-economic damages refers to either the monetary loss or physical and emotional pain you went through. These are typically directly from injuries sustained from the crash itself or issues related to it.

Payment for fixing the car itself, hospital bills, or other expenses qualify for economic damages. Situations that qualify for non-economic damages include emotional issues or complications from physical problems due to the accident.